Best Ways to deal with Cold & Flu Congestion

Is it too late into the cold & flu season to start giving tips for it? Ah, well. I got my first cold of the season, so now I’m sharing how I take care of it with essential oils. 🙂

Usually when I get a cold, I am mostly fine. No severe coughs, usually no fever and if I do get a fever it’s only 1 degree higher than my norm. I just get very tired and very congested. I’d say about 50% of the time my congestion turns into a sinus infection, which honestly nothing can help except antibiotics.

So what do I do when I’m congested when it’s still just a cold?

I grab peppermint, spearmint, eucalyptus, cajeput, anything that tingles when you sniff it. My personal favorite pre-made blend for this situation is actually Fabulous Frannie’s Cold & Flu (blend of eucalyptus, cajeput, & peppermint).

Here are some options for what I do:

  • Diffuse it into the air. This is my number one option. I curl up next to my diffuser and let it run a blend of the above mentioned oils. Not only is the humidifier aspect soothing when I’m sick, but the scent of the oils helps open up my nasal passages.
  • Dilute about 30 drops total of oils in fractionated coconut oil, then smooth it over my cheeks, nose bridge, and right under my nostrils. This awakens my senses, helps me think more clearly when I’m in the cold virus fog, and helps open up my nasal passages.
  • The last thing I do is place that diluted blend of oils on a tissue and occasionally rub my nose with it. I don’t actually blot my snot drippings or blow my nose; I just essentially inhale the scent. This does the same thing as rubbing it on my nose does, but it just quickly opens up and soothes. You can get the same effect from making an inhaler as well.

No one enjoys being sick, and no one enjoys congestion. Hopefully these tips help alleviate some of the most aggravating symptoms for you. Honestly, when it comes to having a cold, the best thing you can do is rest, drink lots of water, eat healthy, and try to not overexert yourself.

Leave a Reply

