Bye Bye Spiders!

I live in the mountains. And because I live in the mountains, all critters seem to be bigger, spiders included. I don’t have a particular disdain for those 8-legged critters, but I don’t want them in my apartment either. I have a cat, but she’s extremely lazy and is not exactly all about keeping her home pest free. With the winter months coming, and the nights getting chillier, the chances of spiders creeping into my home through the cracks under my doors and windows is steadily increasing.

So, I created a blend based off of various recipes I have found on the web. I basically took the common ingredients among the recipes I found and created something that I believe helps.

Peppermint is the most common oil for specifically spiders, but I decided to add a dash of Lemongrass to mine just to keep out other pesky creepy crawlers.

Here’s what you’ll need!

  • A spray bottle (glass preferred)
  • 1 tsp free & clear soap
  • 15-18 drops Peppermint essential oil
  • 2-4 drops of Lemongrass essential oil

Alternatively, you could use Fabulous Frannie’s Bug Away blend (unaffiliated link). Just use 15-18 drops of it then add 2-4 drops of Peppermint for spiders. 

Here’s how you add it all together:

  • First, add your free & clear soap to the bottle (this helps blend the oils with the water)
  • Add your essential oils.
  • Fill with water.
  • Shake gently to combine all ingredients.

And there you have it! Spray it around doors, windows, and other places where spiders could find their way in. Hope you find this to be useful!

I also have heard of people adding the oils to door frames and such without diluting it. I think that’s fine as long as you don’t have pets or kids that could come into contact with it. I plan to make a post on safety concerns with essential oils soon, so look out for that!

Leave a Reply

