Favorite Blends for Sleep

I personally struggle with insomnia. I have for as long as I can remember (even back in my teen years). While I don’t swear by essential oils as a magical cure for chronic insomnia, I do believe they help me as part of my established bedtime routine. So, I’ve created a post of my favorite sleep blends!

There are many different combinations of essential oils for sleep. I’d venture to say that most oils that are not minty or in the citrus family (except Bergamot) can be combined to relax you. In general, the most common oils you’ll see for sleep are: Lavender, Bergamot, Vanilla, Patchouli, Chamomile & Ylang Ylang.

Here are my favorite combinations (measured out for a 100mL diffuser):

  • Sleep 1: 3 drops Lavender, 2 drops Bergamot
  • Sleep 2: 4 drops Lavender, 3 drops Vanilla, 1-2 drops Patchouli
  • Sleep 3: 4 drops Lavender, 2 drops Patchouli
  • Sleep 4: 4 drops Lavender, 1 drop Bergamot, 1 drop Patchouli, 1 drop Ylang Ylang

And there you have it! You can mix and match oils to suit your personal preferences for scents that relax you, but these are just my favorites! My go-to is Sleep 3 when I don’t feel like trying to make a decision of what other scents to add to them. I have also seen recommendations to add a drop or two of Frankincense to a sleep blend, but I personally have not tried that as I try to save my Frankincense for more special blends rather than something used daily.

2 thoughts on “Favorite Blends for Sleep

  1. Pingback: Nighttime Routine – Aromatherapy for the Common Man

  2. Pingback: Sleep Body/Linen Spray – Aromatherapy for the Common Man

Leave a Reply

